The Strange Undoing of Prudencia Hart

By David Greig. Co-created with Wils Wilson. Directed by Debbie Hannan.

  • A Royal Exchange Theatre Production
  • 4 December 2021 - 15 January 2022
  • The Theatre
Book Now
×

CHRISTMAS AT THE EXCHANGE BRINGS A FAIRY-TALE OF SORTS… 


A devilish offering from award-winning writer David Greig, THE STRANGE UNDOING OF PRUDENCIA HART is a wild musical play that sees Scottish folk songs collide with decadent karaoke under the direction of Debbie Hannan. Oozing with wit, passion, seduction and sambucas, this show is a riotous mix of rhyming couplets, live music and a glimpse of the underworld.

It’s the winter solstice and lover of old things and traditional ways, Prudencia Hart, fresh from her PhD, is conference bound. In a hot stuffy hall on the borders, she shares her theories on Hell in folk literature. But, as the snow falls thick and fast the small-town flings off its folk traditions, dumps Robert Burns for a bit of Kylie, and grabs the karaoke mic with both hands. The night gets increasingly raucous and it's astonishing what Prudencia will discover between the snow and the vodka shots - not least, what she finds out about herself.


All our autumn shows are operating at a reduced capacity. This production will also retain 7 fully socially distanced shows. See 'Event Information' for more details.
  • Event Information
  • VENUE: The Theatre, the Royal Exchange Theatre

    DATES: Saturday 4 December 2021 - Saturday 15 January 2022

    AGE GUIDANCE: 14+

    TIMES (SOCIALLY DISTANCED PERFORMANCES ARE MARKED 'SD'):

    DAY DATE TIME(S)
    Saturday (preview)
    04 December 2021 19:30
    Monday (preview) 06 December 2021 19:30
    Tuesday (preview)
    07 December 2021 19:30
    Thursday
    09 December 2021 19:30
    Friday 10 December 2021 19:30
    Saturday 11 December 2021 14:30 & 19:30
    Monday 13 December 2021 19:30 (SD)
    Tuesday 14 December 2021 19:30
    Wednesday 15 December 2021 14:30 (SD) & 19:30
    Thursday 16 December 2021 19:30
    Friday 17 December 2021 19:30
    Saturday 18 December 2021 14:30 & 19:30
    Monday 20 December 2021 19:30
    Tuesday 21 December 2021 14:30 & 19:30
    Wednesday 22 December 2021 19:30
    Thursday 23 December 2021 14:30 & 19:30
    Friday 24 December 2021 14:30
    Monday 27 December 2021 19:30
    Tuesday 28 December 2021 14:30 & 19:30 (SD)
    Wednesday 29 December 2021 19:30
    Thursday 30 December 2021 14:30 & 19:30
    Friday 31 December 2021 14:30
    Saturday 01 January 2022 19:30
    Monday 03 January 2022 19:30
    Tuesday 04 January 2022 19:30
    Wednesday 05 January 2022 14:30 & 19:30 (SD)
    Thursday 06 January 2022 19:30
    Friday 07 January 2022 19:30
    Saturday 08 January 2022 14:30 (SD) & 19:30
    Monday 10 January 2022 19:30 (SD)
    Tuesday 11 January 2022 19:30
    Wednesday 12 January 2022 14:30 & 19:30
    Thursday 13 January 2022 19:30
    Friday 14 January 2022 19:30 (SD)
    Saturday 15 January 2022 14:30 & 19:30

    TICKET PRICES: Standard Tickets range from £10 - £32. Concessions available.

    BOOKING: Tickets are available to buy online

    If you need assistance with booking your ticket, or have an issue that needs resolving, please contact our Visitor Experience Team

    When your booking is complete, you will receive two emails. The first email will be your Order Confirmation. The second email will contain your e-tickets. You'll need the e-tickets within this email to show upon entry to the Theatre. If you don't receive this email, you can check your online account and once logged in, scroll down to the option 'E-Tickets' and all your current and past e-tickets will be here. If your tickets aren't here or there is a problem downloading them, please contact our Visitor Experience Team.

    COVID GUIDANCE:

    • The majority of performances for THE STRANGE UNDOING OF PRUDENCIA HART are taking place at 70% capacity in order to minimise contacts and offer seating options with more space.

    • Seven performances will be fully socially distanced - these are marked SD above (Mon 13 Dec, Wed 15 Dec mat, Tue 28 Dec eve, Wed 5 Jan eve, Sat 8 Jan mat, Mon 10 Jan & Fri 14 Jan)

    • For the fully socially distanced performances, seating is arranged in clusters. These are groups of tickets containing a specific number of seats (1, 2, 3 or 4) next to each other in one row. Please choose where to sit based on the number of seats you need. 

    • Due to social distancing, there are no group discounts for in-person shows.

    • We ask all visitors to the theatre to wear masks inside the building (including during performances) unless exempt. Staff will continue to wear masks.

    • Please do not attend if you have Covid symptoms, a positive test result or are required to isolate.

    • Full details of our Covid procedures can be found on the Visiting Us page.

    TICKET TERMS & CONDITIONS:

    MiniMembersLogo

    Members get Priority Booking as well as exclusive extras for additional events. You can find out about Membership here.

    With your support, we can make brilliant theatre, tell stories, nurture new talent, and help as many people as possible get involved.

     

    Image of The Great Hall which links to the information about Visiting Us In Person

  • Creative Team
  • WRITTEN BY: David Greig

    CO-CREATED WITH: Wils Wilsdon

    DIRECTED BY: Debbie Hannan

     

     

  • Related Events
  • GLEE & ME
    11 September 2021 - 30 October 2021 

     

    THE MOUNTAINTOP
    25 September 2021 - 27 October 2021 
  • Accessible Performances
  • ACCESS PERFORMANCES

    Audio Described = Saturday 18 December 2021 at 2.30pm

    Captioned = Wednesday 5 January 2022 at 2.30pm and 7.30pm

    Relaxed = Saturday 8 January 2022 at 2.30pm (this is a socially distanced performance)

    British Sign Language (BSL) = Thursday 13 January 2022 at 7.30pm

Have Your Say

comments powered by Disqus

Join the Discussion